foscam Fi8904W

Post here to ask any questions about hardware suitability, configuration in ZoneMinder, or experiences. If you just want to know if something works with ZoneMinder or not, please check the Hardware Compatibility sections in the forum, and the Wiki first. Also search this topic as well.
Post Reply
grndamgt4
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 5:05 pm

foscam Fi8904W

Post by grndamgt4 » Tue Oct 13, 2009 5:22 pm

I have finally got my foscam Fi8904W (FI8904 with wireless) camera setup and wanted to help the next person.
If this is the wrong place to post, please move it to the correct location on the forum.

First focus the camera:
My camera came arrived out of focus, to focus it you have to screw off the front of the camera (just grab it with two hands like giving an indian burn and spin), it does not look like it screws off, i was quite amazed that it did screw off. Then the black lense itself turns. Mine had a foam piece around it but some websites say their non-wireless f18904 had a tiny screw that held the lense in place.
I turned it till it was in focus and put it back together.

Next add it to zoneminder:
To get zoneminder connected to it, i add a preset axis 640x480 camera and changed the remote host path to

/snapshot.cgi?user=visitor&pwd=

visitor was setup by default in the admin page as a user who did not require a password to login. You could setup a different username.
You can also you the "push" vido feed by entering

/videostream.cgi?user=visitor&pwd=

Notes about the camera:
I would also like to note that there are fake versions of this camera which is why foscam.com will not let you download the firmware. They nice people at foscam.com will email you the firmware once you've sent them some pictures of your camera, and the numbers off of it so they can confirm it is actually a foscam camera.

insippo
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:45 am
Location: estonia

Post by insippo » Sat Jan 29, 2011 10:47 am

i cant get picture from this camera.Installed debian lenny and last zoneminder. Cam working from chrome Okay but zm not.
Help please!

grndamgt4
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 5:05 pm

Post by grndamgt4 » Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:32 pm

The most common reason for no picture in zoneminder is not configuring shared memory, have you done this?

Search these page for shmmax or shmall
http://www.zoneminder.com/wiki/index.php/FAQ
http://www.zoneminder.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=9692

insippo
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:45 am
Location: estonia

Post by insippo » Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:37 pm

I done with this.Fps only too low.3-4
comp with1GHz processor with 512MB ram and cam over wifi
I cant view events.There are no frames recorded for this event

grndamgt4
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 5:05 pm

Post by grndamgt4 » Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:48 pm

insippo wrote:I done with this.Fps only too low.3-4
comp with1GHz processor with 512MB ram and cam over wifi
How many cams are you running?
How good is the lighting? during the daytime I get 11fps from 2 foscam camera's both over wifi, at night I get 5fps from each camera. Comp with 1.2GHz proc 400MB ram. Cam running at 640x480 with 24bit color.

Lastly, are you using /videostream.cgi or /snapshot.cgi?
videostream.cgi is supposed to use mjpeg vs jpeg which should raise the frame rate but uses more processor.

insippo
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:45 am
Location: estonia

Post by insippo » Sat Jan 29, 2011 3:58 pm

I running 1 cam.Lighting is low and using videstream.cgi. Cam running at 640x480 with 24bit color.I get picture to zm 1 hour ago after 1 day fu...ng.
I edit conf and using snapshot.cgi. fps is 3-4.If i watch event I get error- An error has occurred and this operation cannot continue.
For full details check your web logs for the code 'C16F98'

I cant view saved events video

grndamgt4
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 5:05 pm

Post by grndamgt4 » Sat Jan 29, 2011 4:25 pm

Do you have any errors in the zm logs?
On my system they are /tmp/zm*.log

what about apache logs?

insippo
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:45 am
Location: estonia

Post by insippo » Sat Jan 29, 2011 5:19 pm

if I view event.Apache2 log:
192.168.1.68-zm server
x.x.x64- laptop
==> /var/log/apache2/access.log <192> /var/log/apache2/error.log <Sat> /var/log/apache2/other_vhosts_access.log <==

==> /var/log/apache2/access.log <==
192.168.1.64 - - [29/Jan/2011:19:18:23 +0200] "GET /zm/index.php HTTP/1.1" 200 1859 "http://192.168.1.68/zm/index.php" "Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US) AppleWebKit/534.10 (KHTML, like Gecko) Ubuntu/10.04 Chromium/8.0.552.237 Chrome/8.0.552.237 Safari/534.10"

insippo
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:45 am
Location: estonia

Post by insippo » Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:15 pm

chrome error.Firefox works fine

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest