TW6805 card - xawtv OK - zmu OK - ZM does not display images

Post here to ask any questions about hardware suitability, configuration in ZoneMinder, or experiences. If you just want to know if something works with ZoneMinder or not, please check the Hardware Compatibility sections in the forum, and the Wiki first. Also search this topic as well.
Post Reply
PDutry
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 9:00 pm

TW6805 card - xawtv OK - zmu OK - ZM does not display images

Post by PDutry » Tue Sep 29, 2009 9:16 pm

Hi!
New with ZM, I am testing one analog camera via TW6805 based card (4 entries). I have both xawtv and vlc working (also in recording mode).

sudo zmu -d /dev/video0 -q -V2 -U admin -P xxxxxxxxx
d:/dev/video0|D:tw68|C:GENERIC|B:PCI:0000:00:0a.0|V:0.0.1|T:0x5000015
|S:NTSC-M/NTSC-M-JP/NTSC-443/PAL-BG/PAL-I/PAL-DK/PAL-M/PAL-N/PAL-Nc/PAL-60/SECAM-DK/SECAM-L
|F:RGBO/RGBQ/RGBP/RGBR/BGR3/RGB3/BGR4/RGB4/YUYV/UYVY
|B:720x578
|I:4
|i0:Composite1|i0T:Camera|i0S:727ff7|i0SP:1|i0SS:1|i0SC:1|i0HP:0
|i1:Composite2|i1T:Camera|i1S:727ff7|i1SP:1|i1SS:1|i1SC:1|i1HP:1
|i2:Composite3|i2T:Camera|i2S:727ff7|i2SP:1|i2SS:1|i2SC:1|i2HP:1
|i3:Composite4|i3T:Camera|i3S:727ff7|i3SP:1|i3SS:1|i3SC:1|i3HP:1

Tried chmod on /dev/video0 without results.

ZM 1.24 does not display any image. "Source" is displayed in red and when monitoring, all I have is an empty windows and a message saying waiting for /localhost.

I am using Ubuntu 9.04 on a pretty old HW ==> reduced fps to 5, as well as window size (but does it really help?). I suppose I would at least get some image...

Do you see any way I should try further? Could you eg confirm settings I should be using?

As you see, any help welcomed by the newbie! Thx!

PDutry
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 9:00 pm

Post by PDutry » Sat Oct 03, 2009 9:17 pm

No replies so far...
Am I supposed to post this kind of help message in another forum?
Would you need other infos?

Thx...

56pit
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 1:41 pm

Post by 56pit » Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:32 pm

What are you using for settings in the source?

PDutry
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 9:00 pm

Post by PDutry » Mon Oct 05, 2009 9:21 pm

Thx for your concern!

Here main source settings:
Source type = local
Function = monitor
MaxFPS reduced to 5 FPS
Device path = /dev/video0
Capture method = Video For Linux version 2
Device channel = 0 (but made several attemps with 1 - to make sure)
Device format = PAL
Capture palette = YUYV (tried also GREY)
Capture width/height = several values were tried

For the rest = default values

Anything wrong?

Thx again!

56pit
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 1:41 pm

Post by 56pit » Tue Oct 06, 2009 1:30 pm

honestly I went through an upgrade on my system from 1.23 to 1.24.1 and now my bnc cameras are not working either. My hardware is new and I'm using a PV-981 card with 3 bnc cameras. I'm still a newb to linux.

I was hoping to compare notes with you and hopefully resolve both are issues.

Have you tried using the Video for Linux Version 1 for the Capture Method?

PDutry
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 9:00 pm

Post by PDutry » Mon Oct 12, 2009 10:30 pm

Yes I did but no change...

Any other idea?

hackeron
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 1:04 am

Post by hackeron » Tue Nov 10, 2009 12:31 pm

Offtopic but how did you get this card working with xawtv and vlc? - I have the same card and having problems

PDutry
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 9:00 pm

TW68...

Post by PDutry » Wed Nov 11, 2009 8:18 pm

Well, all the glory must go to Domenico Andreoli.
He developed the needed driver.
See: http://gitorious.org/~cavok/tw68/cavok- ... ees/master

Caution, as far as I know, this works only with kernel 2.6.29 and 2.6.30

Hope it helps!

robertfullarton
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 12:38 pm
Location: Brisbane

Post by robertfullarton » Sun Nov 15, 2009 12:44 pm

Hi I have a tw6805 card and I've got it working in zoneminder, it only seems to work if you set the image size to 320 x 240.
The other settings are
pal b1
yuyv

phantonuser
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 10:50 pm

Post by phantonuser » Thu Dec 17, 2009 12:27 pm

Hello,

first sorry about the bad english, it's not my native language, i hope you can understand.

i have a TW6805 card and it was installed with Domenico's driver but only one camera is functioning well, when i put another one they go crazy. The first channel creates a shadow on the other 3.. it's a know issue?I' m having another problems with apache -k start and high use of cpu by zmz cgi process.. i think it's related this unstable driver

i'm using Debian Lenny with Kernel 2.6.31, ZM 1.24.2, Apache2 and Mysql5. All packages are from Debian stable repository.

Anyone had similar problems?

PH

curtishall
Posts: 440
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 12:45 am
Location: Fulton, MO
Contact:

Post by curtishall » Fri Dec 18, 2009 1:18 am

Last edited by curtishall on Sun Feb 21, 2010 7:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.

phoenix427
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 1:46 am

TW-6805 Card

Post by phoenix427 » Fri Dec 18, 2009 1:49 am

robertfullarton wrote:Hi I have a tw6805 card and I've got it working in zoneminder, it only seems to work if you set the image size to 320 x 240.
The other settings are
pal b1
yuyv
I just got one of these cards today as well - to get resolutions greater than 320x240 you'll need to edit /etc/sysctl.conf and increase your shared memory:

Code: Select all

kernel.shmall = 268435456
kernel.shmmax = 268435456
One I whacked that in I restarted ZoneMinder and increased the resolution and it works :D

whatboy
Posts: 304
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 10:31 pm

Post by whatboy » Fri Dec 18, 2009 3:06 am

I just bought one TechWell 6805a... it is on its way tought... I heard you have to run this...

git clone git://gitorious.org/tw68/module.git (need to install git package)
(enter module dir)
make
make install (as root)



but then I don't know what to put on modprobe.conf


guess I'll have to wait and play arround when mine comes...

moorsey
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:56 am

Post by moorsey » Sun Jan 03, 2010 9:02 am

This driver does seem to be coming along now, a few more updates to it today I see.

Anyway, I have been wanting to get rid of the crappy Windows software that card with my card (based on the TW6800), but haven't got very far with this driver.

Can anyone tell me how to just install it? It seems to be assumed I should just know :)

So far, I have done the following:

1. Downloaded the master tar.gz from here http://gitorious.org/tw68/tw68-v2/trees/master

2. Extracted these files

3. cd into the extracted folder

4. run "sudo make"

But I can then not run "sudo make install", am I doing something completely wrong?!

Cheers

robertfullarton
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 12:38 pm
Location: Brisbane

Post by robertfullarton » Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:10 pm

There's no install section in the Makefile anymore.
You have to copy tw68.ko to /lib/modules/ "current kernel" /kernel/somewhere. Doesn't seem to matter exactly which sub dir you put it in.
then run sudo depmod -a

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests