AirLink101 AICAP650W wireless PTZ camera ZM support

Post here to ask any questions about hardware suitability, configuration in ZoneMinder, or experiences. If you just want to know if something works with ZoneMinder or not, please check the Hardware Compatibility sections in the forum, and the Wiki first. Also search this topic as well.
Post Reply
phiberop
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 5:56 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

AirLink101 AICAP650W wireless PTZ camera ZM support

Post by phiberop » Wed Jan 16, 2008 4:21 pm

Has anyone tried using the AirLink101 AICAP650W wireless PTZ camera with ZM? Fry's had these for about $250 and they looked interesting, but didn't want to buy unless they would work. Anyone have any experience with AirLink?

http://www.airlink101.com/products/aicap650w.html

Thanks!

we4zonM
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 7:21 am

Try jpg stream!

Post by we4zonM » Fri May 30, 2008 7:38 am

If you are buying a new camera, why not buy one that has been tested to work with Linux? There are hardware compatibility lists, and chipset lists that can help you to decide. There is also a post on the Airlink101 AIC250 camera in this Zoneminder forum that points you to the wiki for some answers.

http://www.zoneminder.com/forums/viewto ... 101+aic250
http://www.zoneminder.com/wiki/index.ph ... rk_Cameras

See my other post for my description of getting 2 fps with the Airlink101 AIC250 with "host=<ip>", "path=/image.jpg", "ffmpeg", "jpg sream", 640x480. I think that you can get the same settings to work, or very similar, if you use NO username and password. If you get me one of those cameras I will be happy to test it out and post!

dbostrom
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 7:53 am

Preliminary results

Post by dbostrom » Sun Oct 12, 2008 8:13 am

This appears to scrape an image:

http://ADDRESS/goform/video2

(note, this does not return video, just a jpeg image. Reload to get an updated image.

I've just bought one of these, and while the hardware seems reasonably nice and solid, the firmware leans on IE and ActiveX to the point that the device is almost useless out of the box if you don't want to use IE. That being said, the unit does apparently have a few ways of getting around the MS fixation, such as the URL above.

If you simply attempt to log in normally without using IE, you'll be rejected with the following:

"Browser change

It cannot peruse in the browser of the present use.
Please use Internet Explorer 6 or above version."

Partially get around this by instead using this URL:

http://ADDRESS/config.html

which will bring up among other things a frame with motion output from the camera. Unfortunately, to actually steer the camera, you need to go to:

http://ADDRESS/control1.html

As far as I can tell, there's no reason other than perversity why this camera -requires ActiveX-. The motion frame in the configuration page is operated by a Java script. The ActiveX window in the "normal" viewing page allows pointing with the mouse (akin to Panasonic interface), but unlike Panasonic these jokers don't give you the option to forgo that and simply use the rocker-style GUI if you're not on IE. Tsk.

Sadly, the 1.0.0 version of the firmware apparently had a telnet daemon inadvertently left running. Not mine, waahh... (edit: The most recent version and what you'll likely find for sale does explicitly fixes that "problem", at least from Airlink's perspective.)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests