Page 1 of 1

configuring hostname in hikvision camera for use by rtsp

Posted: Wed Oct 06, 2021 7:18 pm
by AnotherBrian
When adding cams, one format used by zoneminder for sourcepath is
tsp://<id>:<password>@192.168.1.54:554/ch1/main/av_stream

Instead I want to use zoneminder source path
tsp://<id>:<password>@FrontPorch:554/ch1/main/av_stream

So basically I want to give the Hikvision camera a hostname of FrontPorch.

So then procedure would be
a) configure camera to use dhcp and give it hostname FrontPorch
b) configure zoneminder source path to use FrontPorch
and everything works without concern about ip addresses.

I believe this is configurable using DDNS on the camera but not sure.

Thanks for suggestions.

Re: configuring hostname in hikvision camera for use by rtsp

Posted: Thu Oct 07, 2021 3:46 pm
by AnotherBrian
ok - i seem to be finding info that hikvision does not allow the hostname to be configured in the camera.

not so for the router. however, doesn't work from zoneminder side. what principle am i missing?
Screenshot_2021-10-07 ASUS Wireless Router RT-AX88U - DHCP Servetr.png
Screenshot_2021-10-07 ASUS Wireless Router RT-AX88U - DHCP Servetr.png (46.12 KiB) Viewed 3524 times

Re: configuring hostname in hikvision camera for use by rtsp

Posted: Thu Oct 07, 2021 4:05 pm
by Magic919
How do you expect the ZM machine to resolve it? Sort that out.

Re: configuring hostname in hikvision camera for use by rtsp

Posted: Fri Oct 08, 2021 3:44 pm
by mikb
At the simplest, you can add a line to your ZM machine's /etc/hosts file to manually assign a hostname :-

Code: Select all

192.168.0.50           cam01
Which will mean ZM will be able to call for "cam01" and resolve it to 192.168.0.50 -- this will only work for the machine that you make this edit on.

If you have a machine somewhere within your network that serves DNS (this could be a firewall machine, a router that will act as DNS server for your internal network) then you could make that entry there, and then all machines in the network that use that DNS server will also see a mapping from machine/camera names, to IP addresses -- I use my firewall machine to do local DNS, DNS cacheing, and a local NTP server.

Re: configuring hostname in hikvision camera for use by rtsp

Posted: Fri Oct 08, 2021 11:44 pm
by AnotherBrian
well heck that was helpful. thankyou!