VMware "best practices" for 2020

A place for discussion of topics that are not specific to ZoneMinder. This could include Linux, Video4Linux, CCTV cameras or any other topic.
anomaly0617

VMware "best practices" for 2020

Post by anomaly0617 »

Hi there,

I'm not certain this is the appropriate forum to post this on, so if not, mods please feel free to move it to the appropriate forum.

For a little background, I'm a Systems Engineer with 20+ years in the IT industry. My background includes small and medium sized networks all the way up to large scale data centers with high availability and redundant power, HVAC, and internet connections. My first distro of Linux was the original Red Hat v4 in the 90's, and I've stayed current on Windows, Linux (multiple distros), AIX, and (in the day) Netware. So to summarize, I'm no spring chicken when it comes to Windows, Linux, Firewalling, Switching, Networking, Video Management Systems, H.264 RTSP streams, PBX'es and Voice over IP, etc.

What I'm looking for is a "best practices" guide from someone who is very knowledgeable on ZoneMinder's resource needs when it relates to virtualized environments. In my case, this means VMware ESXi Hypervisors, but this could also apply to any Hypervisor software such as KVM or others.

I've got a few Zoneminder physcial servers set up, and they are generally rock solid. No issues with lock ups.

But - I've got a small Zoneminder virtual server set up on an HP Pavilion ML350 G6 with 96GB of RAM. This was set up for research purposes only in my company's R&D facility. I can't really go into the details of what I'm specifically doing, but ZoneMinder is one VMS I'm working with, and there are 2-3 others I work with regularly.