Page 1 of 1

planning home area cover

Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2018 6:12 am
by konctl
Hello,

I am planning the cover around my house and I 'd like to ask for your help.

My house is in the middle of a rectangular field/garden (4000 square meters, 1 acre). I want to secure the whole field, in the sense that I want to detect if someone is around the fence or breaks in through fence. Ideally, record the license plates of a car driving outside the field. (Recently thiefs cut the fence, stole some equipment and drove away in their truck parked just outside, in the middle of the day!)

The entrance of the field is important to cover, since it is next to the power supply and someone could cut the power cable which provides power in the house (and in the surveillance system that I will build). The entrance is around 30 meters away from the house. The most distant point of the fence is around 60 meters away from the house.

Should I try to cover the perimeter on the fence with many cheaper/2MP cams or attach better (maybe 4-5MP) cams on the balconies of the house so as to cover more (but not all) of the area of the field? The field is full of trees (only few tall ones, more olive trees, fruit trees, bushes, etc.). Also, there is a couple of small barns/warehouses.

My budget is not great, since I am a beginner, but I would like to start with a plan and add to the system as I learn. I haven't bought anything yet.

Any recommendation is welcome.
Many thanks.

Re: planning home area cover

Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2018 8:38 pm
by mikb
konctl wrote:
Sun Dec 02, 2018 6:12 am
someone could cut the power cable which provides power in the house (and in the surveillance system that I will build).
Addressing this point specifically, as you are designing the system, budget for a UPS. It doesn't have to be huge. It does have to have a way of keeping your cameras, any IP-networking (hubs, routers, power-over-ethernet) and your system running ZoneMinder, working!

Any decent home alarm system has a built in battery to provide a "UPS" function, so burglars can't just cut the power and walk in. Same should apply to your cameras :)

Re: planning home area cover

Posted: Mon Dec 24, 2018 10:00 am
by Mike Peters
When I changed cables in my house I bought fiber optic cable at Jera and there I also found accessories that protect it from thieves and mechanical damages. As far as I know they ship their products all over the world. My colleague who moved to China said that Jera produces FOSC in China with nice quality and price. He also used their cables for super fast Internet connection at home.

Re: planning home area cover

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2019 6:53 pm
by snake
konctl wrote:
Sun Dec 02, 2018 6:12 am
Should I try to cover the perimeter on the fence with many cheaper/2MP cams or attach better (maybe 4-5MP) cams on the balconies of the house so as to cover more (but not all) of the area of the field? The field is full of trees (only few tall ones, more olive trees, fruit trees, bushes, etc.). Also, there is a couple of small barns/warehouses.
I would go with the lower resolution cameras, as you can get better FPS out of lower resolution cameras, and also have more of them. It helps to be closer to what you are recording as well. I've noticed lately that some CCTV installations will mount cameras on poles. This is an alternative to mounting on the side of buildings.

If I were you I would also consider external hardware motion sensors. But, they are not as simple as a camera setup, so you probably don't want to start with them. If you were worried about someone breaking into a barn for example - you could rig up a tripwire IR sensor on a door. This is getting into alarm territory....

Do you have a model of camera in mind? See the wiki's Hardware Compatibility List. What about server hardware? If you are using RTSP you will want to do h264 passthrough in 1.32, most likely. I have not tested high resolution cameras in 1.32 but if it works with passthrough, then you might be able to use 2k HD or better. Someone should run some tests.

Re: planning home area cover

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 6:26 pm
by konctl
First of all thank you all for your suggestions. Very much appreciated.
snake wrote:
Mon Jan 07, 2019 6:53 pm
Do you have a model of camera in mind? See the wiki's Hardware Compatibility List. What about server hardware? If you are using RTSP you will want to do h264 passthrough in 1.32, most likely. I have not tested high resolution cameras in 1.32 but if it works with passthrough, then you might be able to use 2k HD or better. Someone should run some tests.
Yes, I have this the hikvision DS-2CD1021-I (https://www.hikvision.com/upload/20170605030116551.pdf) in mind. It is not on the Hardware Compatibility List, but there are not many cheap hikvision bullet cameras on the list. It is ONVIF compliant, so I am hoping to add it to the list. I am considering this because of its price: I can buy it for about 60 euros. (Should I not?)

On the server side, I am considering either an old intel xeon (cheap used from ebay) or a new AMD Ryzen system. The old xeon needs a more expensive compatible motherboard, so overall I have not made my mind up yet. (What would you do?)

My plan right now is to start with a cheap 2MP camera, test RTSP and h264 and all the rest on my laptop, run tests and then expand on the server and the amount of cameras. I am guessing... 4-5 cameras probably. Also following mikb's suggestion above I will budget for a UPS (and also a PoE switch, I need that for many cameras, right?).

Damn! lots to do.