zm -good enough for proffesional use ??

A place for discussion of topics that are not specific to ZoneMinder. This could include Linux, Video4Linux, CCTV cameras or any other topic.
kj99

zm -good enough for proffesional use ??

Post by kj99 »

any one reading his , id be really glad of your input...

i make my living installing cctv for private /retail customers - exclusivly old school analogue stuff with a dvr viewable over the net.

two new customers recommeneded by a friend , have both already got a couple of ip cameras streaming footage to there head office - for monitoring use only , no recording.

one customer has got a couple of axis cameras and the other a couple of panasonics-

until these two sites , ive never really given much thought to ip cameras and the like -
ive always been of the opinion .
1. its expensive gear
2. network dvrs arent cheap.

but the picture quality of both the pan/axis cameras theyve got has blown my mind- and being asked to add more Axis/pan cameras on each site - and getting local recording... im at a loss on which recording system to use.

ive already talked both custmers into buying a couple of qnap recorders -but thinking on , and being a tinkerer at heart , i want to try zm...

but i dont want to look silly with these two jobs if zm doesnt work out...

are any of you reading this cctv installers ?
do you install zm proffesionaly for your customers - if so ,,,
what recommendations in terms of minimum pc spec would you make etc?

btw,
one site has already got 2 panasonic ip cameras , and the other one 2 axis cameras -
the panasonic site is a hotel , and theres a fair bit of activity so the pc would need more memory etc than the first.

the first site would only ever have a maximum of 4 cameras and the hotel already having 2 , would probably over the year want another 10 pany cameras...

concerns about zm are...
-not working when you really need it- a disaster when you need some important footage.#