How to upgrade zoneminder ?

Add any particular hints or tricks you have found to help with your ZoneMinder experience.
Post Reply
david1234
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2019 12:24 pm

How to upgrade zoneminder ?

Post by david1234 »

Hello,
I'm running zonminder on my PI4 (did the installation as it say in the zoneminder Wiki)
the version is 1.32.3
do I need to upgrade it ?
how do I upgrdae it ?
and if I upgrade it - will it save all the configuration ? or I will need to setup everything again ?

Thanks ,
dougmccrary
Posts: 541
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2019 7:35 am

Re: How to upgrade zoneminder ?

Post by dougmccrary »

do I need to upgrade it ?
Not if it's working for you. There are some pretty cool new features, though.

how do I upgrdae it ?
Change your source from zoneminder-1.32/whatever to zoneminder-1.34 or 1.36

and if I upgrade it - will it save all the configuration ? or I will need to setup everything again ?
Usually, yes, so no.
But it's a good idea not to jump directly from 1.32 to 1.36. 1.32 to 1.34 to 1.36 is less chancy.
You probably want to save your database, just in case.
david1234
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2019 12:24 pm

Re: How to upgrade zoneminder ?

Post by david1234 »

OK
alsmost everything is working for me - I mange to get 100% of what i want\need.
so I prefer not to touch it - if it's not broken no need to fix :-)

thank you for the explain and answer
dougmccrary
Posts: 541
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2019 7:35 am

Re: How to upgrade zoneminder ?

Post by dougmccrary »

if it's not broken no need to fix
Egg-zactly.
pimehexon
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2022 2:55 pm

Re: How to upgrade zoneminder ?

Post by pimehexon »

dougmccrary wrote: Sun Dec 19, 2021 9:28 am do I need to upgrade it ?
Not if it's working for you. There are some pretty cool new features, though.

how do I upgrdae it ?
Change your source from zoneminder-1.32/whatever to zoneminder-1.34 or 1.36

and if I upgrade it - will it save all the configuration ? or I will need to setup everything again ?
Usually, yes, so no.
But it's a good idea not to jump directly from 1.32 to 1.36. 1.32 to 1.34 to 1.36 is less chancy.
You probably want to save your database, just in case.
What should I do if I upgraded zoneminder and lost all my data? Is there any way to resrore all configurations and cancel changes?
dougmccrary
Posts: 541
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2019 7:35 am

Re: How to upgrade zoneminder ?

Post by dougmccrary »

Restore/cancel

Depends on what happened. Unless you really need whatever data was lost, probably best to just forget it and forge on.
Settings are quite a bit improved just using ffmpeg and auto in most cases.
Post Reply