Fushicai USBTV007 - yet another Easycap clone

Post here to indicate any hardware you have used and which is known to work with ZoneMinder. Not for questions.
Nighthowl

Fushicai USBTV007 - yet another Easycap clone

Post by Nighthowl »

Some of the latest Easycap clones (originally with STK1160 chip) now come with the Fushicai USBTV007 chip, lsusb lists it as 1b71:3002. This must be the 4th or 5th different model sold in the same exact packaging that at first glance promises you the widely supported STK1160 aka Easycap/DC60 model.

Thanks to Lubomir Rintel's work on reverse engineering the windows driver there's already a preliminary driver/module available to compile and use this capture pen with zoneminder for example! So far only NTSC capture through the RCA connector is supported, but PAL will already "work" with some glitches.

I'm new to Linux so I had a hard time making this work. I'm reproducing here the steps I took so that every other linux challenged person :D that has this device can make it work without much trouble.

As I'm a new forum user I can't post off-site URL's :roll: , you'll need to replace the d0ts until that gets sorted out :oops:

Starting with a Ubuntu 12.04 server install, update to the latest kernel.
You can browse kernel d0t ubuntu d0t com/~kernel-ppa/mainline to check the latest version and update links accordingly. At the time of this writing it's 3.11 rc4.

If you have a 32bit install:

Code: Select all

wget -c kernel d0t ubuntu d0t com /~kernel-ppa/mainline/v3.11-rc4-saucy/linux-headers-3.11.0-031100rc4_3.11.0-031100rc4.201308041735_all.deb
wget -c kernel d0t ubuntu d0t com /~kernel-ppa/mainline/v3.11-rc4-saucy/linux-headers-3.11.0-031100rc4-generic_3.11.0-031100rc4.201308041735_i386.deb
wget -c kernel d0t ubuntu d0t com /~kernel-ppa/mainline/v3.11-rc4-saucy/linux-image-3.11.0-031100rc4-generic_3.11.0-031100rc4.201308041735_i386.deb

sudo dpkg -i *.deb
or 64bit: