Stopping alarms when PTZ camera is moving

Discussions related to the 1.36.x series of ZoneMinder
Post Reply
piflipper
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2020 1:13 pm

Stopping alarms when PTZ camera is moving

Post by piflipper »

Hi All,

I've managed to get an unbadged PTZ camera working great in zoneminder and run a script, via cron, that pans the camera every half hour at night to a new location. If I run the commands from the CLI everything works as I'd hope, but when run via the script I still get alarms.

The first command to disable the camera is :
sudo zmu -m 4 -D -U "User" -P "PASSWORD"

2nd command moves the camera:
sudo zmcontrol.pl --id=4 --command=presetGoto --preset=002 "could be 001, 002 etc"

3rd command re-enables the camera:
sudo zmu -m 4 -E -U "User" -P "PASSWORD"

I have also tried to achieve the same by switching profiles, then moving then switching back still get alarms.

Can anyone help please?
BiloxiGeek
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 2:04 pm

Re: Stopping alarms when PTZ camera is moving

Post by BiloxiGeek »

I've been using get_zones.pl script I found here and running:

Code: Select all

get_zones.pl -s inactive -z <zone_name>
Get a list of zones:

Code: Select all

get_zones.pl -r
piflipper
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2020 1:13 pm

Re: Stopping alarms when PTZ camera is moving

Post by piflipper »

Hi BiloxiGeek,

Do you have a link to that script, I can't find it anywhere on my setup?

Thanks
piflipper
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2020 1:13 pm

Re: Stopping alarms when PTZ camera is moving

Post by piflipper »

SOLVED
Answering my own question here. By putting a sleep 10 command before re-enabling the camera stops the alarms happening. Gives time for the movement to complete and settle (focus etc) before monitoring resumes.

Cheers
BiloxiGeek
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 2:04 pm

Re: Stopping alarms when PTZ camera is moving

Post by BiloxiGeek »

piflipper wrote: Tue Sep 05, 2023 10:17 am Hi BiloxiGeek,

Do you have a link to that script, I can't find it anywhere on my setup?

Thanks
Script is in this thread if you want to test it out, it doesn't seem to be part of ZM natively.

viewtopic.php?p=103513
Post Reply