D-Link Cam keeps dropping out

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.24.x releases only.
Quicksilver2002

D-Link Cam keeps dropping out

Post by Quicksilver2002 »

I'm new to Ubuntu and Zoneminder. I have 10 cameras set up right now. 9 are Toshiba IK-WB02A and the other is a D-Link DCS-6620G. All are working good except for the D-Link. it will work fine for awhile and then turn red. If i restart zoneminder it will usually turn green and record events, but will turn back to red at some point.
If anyone can help me try to figure out why this is doing this that would be great! Again, I'm very new to both ubuntu and zoneminder.

Thanks
Flash_

Post by Flash_ »

If it's running wireless, dropouts there can cause the symptoms you describe.

Certain cameras also hang/stall/stutter or supply buggy feeds. This can be overcome in their own display software or activex wrappers but less easy for a third party app like zm to handle. Eg, cameras not supplying true mjpeg standard files. Not saying that's the case here, I have no experience of this camera, but D-link do have a bit of a reputation for less than perfect gear and I think there is a real chance the problem is not zoneminder nor your configuration.
T3G Terry

Post by T3G Terry »

Not sure if I can help you but I will take a stab at the similar experience I had.

First off let me say that this occurred with my Vivotek cameras. Particularly the model PZ6112 and PZ 6117. I realize they are not D-Link BUT if I am not mistaken the D-Link and Vivoteks have some similarities and in some cases the D-Links were rebranded Vivoteks. Anyway here goes.