Ubuntu 7.04 (Feisty Fawn) installation walkthrough (kind of)

If you've made a patch to quick fix a bug or to add a new feature not yet in the main tree then post it here so others can try it out.
ryscar

Ubuntu 7.04 (Feisty Fawn) installation walkthrough (kind of)

Post by ryscar »

First, I would like to thank those that maintain this software and the live cd version. I initially did an installation from the live cd and it worked without any problems. 99.9% of this information came from other people so, thanks. Without you posting your stuff, I would not have been able to post this or get my system running. I chose to do the installation on Ubuntu/Debian because that is what I am familiar with. If someone finds this useful or feels that it should go somewhere else, feel free to copy or move it.

***Updated 2007-08-22***
Disclaimer:
I am not an expert, not even close. This is just what worked for me in my situation. Also, I have no idea if this is the right/secure way of doing things. Please excuse any typos, misinformation, horrible formatting or incoherent ramblings.
  • 1. Do a plain installation of Ubuntu server edition without LAMP or DNS.
    2. Log in to the root account.

Code: Select all

sudo -i
    3. Edit /etc/apt/sources.list and comment out the 3rd (I think) line so it will not look to the cd anymore.

nano /etc/apt/sources.list
    4. Update

apt-get update
    5. Upgrade

apt-get upgrade
    6. Install ssh so you can use a Windows/Linux with a GUI machine to make any copy/pasting a lot easier.

apt-get install ssh
    7. Get the ZonerMinder package (and thank Peter)

wget ftp://www.northern-ridge.com.au/zoneminder/ubuntu/edgy/zoneminder_1.22.3-8_i386.deb
    8. Install the package. (This will complain about the missing dependencies but, step #9 should fix that.)

dpkg -i zoneminder_1.22.3-8_i386.deb

9. Fix the package dependices.

apt-get –f install
    10. Create a symbolic link so Apache uses the correct configutation file.