Fixed my ffmpeg smear

If you've made a patch to quick fix a bug or to add a new feature not yet in the main tree then post it here so others can try it out.
chickenSniffer

Fixed my ffmpeg smear

Post by chickenSniffer »

I've just experienced the ffmpeg smear for the first time. I had no idea what it was until I started googling around for vertically distorted images, but there are lots of things on the internet calling it the ffmpeg smear, so that's how I found it and what led me to your forum.

I've already found and fixed my problem, I just wanted to post this here incase it helps anyone else. I don't expect this is going to be the problem for everyone, but it's worth checking.

My cameras are a couple of hikvisions, one indoor and one outdoor, and had been running fine for a few months. Then I did a reshuffle of my network (I'm a cisco network tech by trade) and my outdoor camera started playing up, recording vertically distorted images. Here is an example screenshot from video, but it got a lot worse: http://i.imgur.com/3Ge2aIj.png

It only started happening when I made some changes to my network so I had an inclining that it was network-related. Anyway, after sniffing around, I found a network issue. The switchport that my camera was connected to had fallen back to half duplex and my camera was on 100/full. I could see errors and collisions incrementing on the switch port. I set my switch's port back to 100/full duplex hard coded (to match the camera) and have been keeping an eye on it for a couple weeks and my smearing problem is gone.

I've seen some places talk about it being a problem when UDP is used. I suspect that what you're seeing with the UDP stuff will tie in to a potential network problem, not necessarily an ffmpeg problem. Or at least making the problem worse if there is also an ffmpeg problem.