IP Camera substreams

Anything you want added or changed in future versions of ZoneMinder? Post here and there's a chance it will get in! Search to make sure it hasn't already been requested.
Post Reply
joearisia
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 11:01 am

IP Camera substreams

Post by joearisia » Sun Sep 29, 2013 11:17 am

It is possible to use IP camera substreams for motion detection but record at full main stream quality when motion is detected?
This would reduce the loading on my relatively low powered system as it would not have to process the 1080p h264 images...
If not, please... :)
Apologies if this is possible, but I've found nothing obvious...

PS btw nice work on 1.26 - halved my cpu load.

Flasheart
Posts: 345
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 2:27 pm

Re: IP Camera substreams

Post by Flasheart » Mon Sep 30, 2013 5:32 am

If your camera has facility to produce more than one stream of differing qualities simultaneously, yes.

Axis, Y-Cam do.

Foscam doesn't. (Yes, you can specify resolution on the URL, but it resets the global setting and exposure)

joearisia
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 11:01 am

Re: IP Camera substreams

Post by joearisia » Mon Sep 30, 2013 1:47 pm

Yes my camera can do simultaneous streams.
It's a Qvis APOIP EYE2: Maplin code N61CD (sorry can't link - it thinks I'm spam). This seems to an AData brand.
The rtsp stream URL (for future google hits): rtsp://username:password@ipaddress:554/cam/realmonitor?channel=1&subtype=0?tcp
Change subtype to 1 for the substream.

After digging in the docs a bit it seems that "Linking Monitors" is the way to do this.
I will play with this tonight.
Thanks for the hint to say this is possible.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests