help, needed novice

Support and queries relating to all previous versions of ZoneMinder
Post Reply
njeuk
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 11:07 am

help, needed novice

Post by njeuk » Mon Jul 02, 2007 11:16 am

i need help in trying to install zoneminder. i have an AMD athlon 500 cpu with 196Mb ram and 300gb hdd. its for a community centre with very limited funds (donations only). i have put CTU f3 distro on it fine but can't seem to get it to work. i can't see where ZM is to run it. is there an other version idiot proof which i can try or can someone point me in the right direction. thanks :oops:

User avatar
Lee Sharp
Posts: 1069
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 9:18 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by Lee Sharp » Tue Jul 03, 2007 12:17 am

The simplest install method I have seen is Peter's deb file. This will only work on Ubuntu and Debian. However, you can install Ubuntu server with the LAMP option easily and run with no GUI. That will be needed for such an underpowered system. And you better not have many cams...

jamescollings
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:26 am
Location: Bucks, UK

Post by jamescollings » Tue Jul 03, 2007 9:46 am

Have you looked at the LiveCD version??

Put the CD into your computer and re-boot from it. You can install onto the Harddisk from the web menu that it presents you with.

NB: If you are using SATA hard disks and CD/DVD's then you "might" have issues (I did on a Dell Optiplex). in which case revert back to a full linux install and install ZM as a package.

User avatar
Lee Sharp
Posts: 1069
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 9:18 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by Lee Sharp » Tue Jul 03, 2007 3:56 pm

I do not think many Live CD's will work in 196 meg of ram, which is what he has. One with a MYSQL database will surly fail spectacularly.

darkpaw
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 2:35 am

not enough RAM

Post by darkpaw » Tue Jul 03, 2007 4:24 pm

I just can't see it working in that little amount of RAM. The ring buffer would have to be very very small, and if not, it would be running into swap (which would make the machine run too slow to be usable for real-time captures).

jamescollings
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:26 am
Location: Bucks, UK

Post by jamescollings » Tue Jul 03, 2007 5:36 pm

Lee Sharp wrote:I do not think many Live CD's will work in 196 meg of ram, which is what he has. One with a MYSQL database will surly fail spectacularly.
This thread shows that some people have managed to get it working in 196MB ram http://www.zoneminder.com/forums/viewto ... highlight=

However, my thinking was that he would get a (slow) system up with the live CD and then install to hard disk.

But as I said in that thread... since memory is soooo cheap, the few $ he will spend on the memory will save him a lot of heart ache...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests