Total Linux nube, cannot find modphrobe file...

Support and queries relating to all previous versions of ZoneMinder
Post Reply
TimboUK
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 9:06 pm

Total Linux nube, cannot find modphrobe file...

Post by TimboUK » Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:10 am

Hi,

Please dont laugh at me :roll:

I am totally new to Linux and have installed the live cd 1.22 onto my old (now un-windowsed) pc. The install has gone ok.

The video captured is corrupt. I tried the different presets, but still not got a true image. I have gone through the wiki etc and found that I need to modify the /etc/modprobe.conf file. But if I start from "Home" and go through "var" to "etc" all I can find is a folder called "modprobe.d" that is empty.

Where can I find the actual file I need to alter?

The card looks like a Pico 2000 card, with a BT878 on it.

Can anyone advise a keen learner please?

Thanks

User avatar
cordel
Posts: 5210
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 4:47 pm
Location: /USA/Washington/Seattle
Contact:

Post by cordel » Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:18 am

It should be in /etc ;)

TimboUK
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 9:06 pm

Post by TimboUK » Thu Jan 11, 2007 12:21 am

Ill go back to celler and look again. I may just be tired!!!

TimboUK
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 9:06 pm

Post by TimboUK » Thu Jan 11, 2007 1:23 am

OK, I was looking in the modprobe.d directory and not for the modprobe.conf file. :roll: :lol:

It would not let me save the altered file, though. Checked permissions. Logged in as root, now saved and I get a picture. Time for bed now. Will continue learning tommorow!

User avatar
R2D2
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 5:02 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Post by R2D2 » Thu Jan 11, 2007 7:56 am

Hi,

not all Linux Distributions have a modprobe.conf.
debian based Linux, Ubuntu e.g. doesn't have this.

:arrow: btw: debian based Linux Distributions are not really recommended for ZoneMinder. :!:

I've had some Problems with Ubuntu --> Look

I solved this by swichting the Distro.

I've also wrote some HowTo's:

Installing ZM 1.22.3 on Sabayon Linux 3.2

Installing ZM 1.22.2 on Mandriva 2007.0 free

User avatar
cordel
Posts: 5210
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 4:47 pm
Location: /USA/Washington/Seattle
Contact:

Post by cordel » Thu Jan 11, 2007 9:56 am

But in his case it is. 8)

TimboUK
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 9:06 pm

Post by TimboUK » Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:12 am

Cheers for the pointers, sorted now. (well the basics are)

Just got to sort:

1) ZM4MS to work; just get a login screen, guest does not work
2) Remote access to web server

As for number 2 I appreciate I need to first enable "Authenticate user logins to ZoneMinder" in the options. But how do I add users and and set what they can do etc?

jamescollings
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:26 am
Location: Bucks, UK

Post by jamescollings » Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:41 am

> I appreciate I need to first enable "Authenticate user logins to ZoneMinder" in the options. But how do I add users and and set what they can do etc?

If I try hard to remember the time when I first installed.

Anyone can access your Zoneminder installation through a browser UNLESS you tick the "authenticate" option. If you tick this, then users will have to use the default administrator user "admin" with the password that you set during log in. Once you have "ticked" the option, a new TAB appears on your browser view for "USERS". You can now add/modify/delete users.

TimboUK
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 9:06 pm

Post by TimboUK » Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:53 am

Cool, thanks for that. Is this actually in the FAQ or instructions? I did look :roll:

Thanks again for your help.

PS How do I access the wiki to edit. Only seems fair that I add some help for useless numpties like me!

jamescollings
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:26 am
Location: Bucks, UK

Post by jamescollings » Fri Jan 12, 2007 2:21 pm

TimboUK wrote:Is this actually in the FAQ or instructions? I did look :roll:
I know what you mean... I asked loads of questions to begin with, and THEN found the answers in the docs.

In this case, your answers were there in section 8.7. Options and Users

if you are running in un-authenticated mode then no user section will be displayed.
is in paragraph 1 and
As mentioned above, you may also see a ‘users’ tab in the Options area. In this section you will see a list of the current users defined on the system. You can also add or delete users from here. in paragraph 5.

Annoying isn't it :lol:
Don't worry about being a Nube.. we were all there once (and some of us only APPEAR to have moved on!).

jameswilson
Posts: 5111
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 8:07 pm
Location: Midlands UK
Contact:

Post by jameswilson » Sun Jan 14, 2007 12:05 am

default users are
admin and
admin for zm4ms
James Wilson

Disclaimer: The above is pure theory and may work on a good day with the wind behind it. etc etc.
http://www.securitywarehouse.co.uk

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests