zma exited abnormally, status 11 error

Support and queries relating to all previous versions of ZoneMinder
Post Reply
SyRenity
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 2:43 pm

zma exited abnormally, status 11 error

Post by SyRenity » Wed Oct 31, 2007 1:45 pm

Hi.

I noticed some of my cameras constantly changing their color from green to orange and back to green. After checking the logs, I noticed the following recurring errors:

'zma -m 5' exited abnormally, exit status 11

The 5 number is diffrent in every error of course.

Any idea what could be causing this, and how to resolve it?

Thanks in advance.

carteriii
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 3:13 pm

Post by carteriii » Mon Nov 05, 2007 1:32 pm

I'm seeing the same behavior and error message on just one of my cameras. For what it's worth, it's attached to one input of an 8-input CV-SDC880 card, so at least from the hardware perspective it shouldn't be any different. I'm only running 4 out of the 8 inputs, so I'm not max'ed out. 3 of the images are set to 320x240, and one (which works fine) is set to 640x480. I'm running Ubuntu 7.10. The camera/device with the problem is always the same one.

At one point I did see another error stating, "shared memory not valid" so I've tried bumping up shared memory in case that was it. On a 2-gig machine, I have shmmax set to 512mb and shmall set to 1gig, confirmed with ipcs -l.

Any suggestions for what else I can check? Thanks in advance.
Last edited by carteriii on Mon Nov 05, 2007 2:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Lee Sharp
Posts: 1069
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 9:18 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by Lee Sharp » Mon Nov 05, 2007 2:51 pm

Three things I have seen cause this are heat, improper card detection and shared memory. Check the heat of the card. (Open case and point a room fan at it.) What is your shared memory settings? What kind of card is it, and what does dmesg say about it?

carteriii
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 3:13 pm

Post by carteriii » Mon Nov 05, 2007 3:14 pm

My card is a CV-SDC880 (8-input, 240fps) from bluecherry, and I do use the following line in modprobe.conf according to their support article:
options bttv gbuffers=16 card=102,102,102,102,102,102,102,102
I'll certainly try cooling the card down even further, though the room is quite cool and this is the only card in it.

As for shared memory, here are the results of ipcs -l
------ Shared Memory Limits --------
max number of segments = 4096
max seg size (kbytes) = 524288
max total shared memory (kbytes) = 1048576
min seg size (bytes) = 1
dmesg does appear to be showing something different about the 2nd input. I'll paste the contents for bttv1 and bttv2 since they are different. bttv3-8 don't have the error message shown for bttv2 and generally look like the information for bttv1. What is the meaning of AE_NOT_FOUND for bttv2?
[ 271.435776] bttv: Bt8xx card found (1).
[ 271.435800] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:08:09.0[A] -> GSI 22 (level, low) -> IRQ 20
[ 271.435814] bttv1: Bt878 (rev 17) at 0000:08:09.0, irq: 20, latency: 32, mmio: 0xf0802000
[ 271.435828] bttv1: using: IVC-200 [card=102,insmod option]
[ 271.435864] bttv1: gpio: en=00000000, out=00000000 in=00ffffff [init]
[ 272.024783] Adding 915664k swap on /dev/sda6. Priority:-1 extents:1 across:915664k
[ 274.228464] EXT3 FS on sda5, internal journal
[ 277.900278] bttv1: using tuner=-1
[ 277.900282] bttv1: i2c: checking for MSP34xx @ 0x80... not found
[ 284.289046] bttv1: i2c: checking for TDA9875 @ 0xb0... not found
[ 290.677813] bttv1: i2c: checking for TDA7432 @ 0x8a... not found
[ 297.066583] bttv1: i2c: checking for TDA9887 @ 0x86... not found
[ 303.455390] bttv1: registered device video2
[ 303.455408] bttv1: registered device vbi1
[ 303.455436] bttv1: PLL: 28636363 => 35468950 .. ok
[ 303.487297] bttv: Bt8xx card found (2).
[ 303.487326] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:08:0a.0[A] -> GSI 23 (level, low) -> IRQ 23
[ 303.487342] bttv2: Bt878 (rev 17) at 0000:08:0a.0, irq: 23, latency: 32, mmio: 0xf0804000
[ 303.487364] bttv2: using: IVC-200 [card=102,insmod option]
[ 303.487403] bttv2: gpio: en=00000000, out=00000000 in=00ffffff [init]
[ 309.876061] bttv2: using tuner=-1
[ 309.876064] bttv2: i2c: checking for MSP34xx @ 0x80... not found
[ 316.264828] bttv2: i2c: checking for TDA9875 @ 0xb0... not found
[ 322.653599] bttv2: i2c: checking for TDA7432 @ 0x8a... <6>No dock devices found.
[ 329.043251] not found
[ 329.043255] bttv2: i2c: checking for TDA9887 @ 0x86... ACPI Exception (video-1479): AE_NOT_FOUND, Evaluating _DOD [20070126]
[ 330.718518] ACPI: Video Device [GFX0] (multi-head: no rom: yes post: no)
[ 331.576867] input: Power Button (FF) as /class/input/input4
[ 331.578853] ACPI: Power Button (FF) [PWRF]
[ 331.593890] input: Power Button (CM) as /class/input/input5
[ 331.595640] ACPI: Power Button (CM) [PBTN]
[ 337.053743] not found
[ 337.053781] bttv2: registered device video3
[ 337.053799] bttv2: registered device vbi2
[ 337.053827] bttv2: PLL: 28636363 => 35468950 .. ok
Later in dmesg, there are additional lines that are the same for all the inputs. Should I care that this says, "Unknown card"?
[ 500.649193] bt878: AUDIO driver version 0.0.0 loaded
[ 500.649223] bt878: Bt878 AUDIO function found (0).
[ 500.649245] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:08:08.1[A] -> GSI 21 (level, low) -> IRQ 19
[ 500.649252] bt878_probe: card id=[0x0], Unknown card.
[ 500.649253] Exiting..
[ 500.649258] ACPI: PCI interrupt for device 0000:08:08.1 disabled
[ 500.649262] bt878: probe of 0000:08:08.1 failed with error -22
[ 500.649267] bt878: Bt878 AUDIO function found (0).
[ 500.649284] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:08:09.1[A] -> GSI 22 (level, low) -> IRQ 20
[ 500.649290] bt878_probe: card id=[0x0], Unknown card.
[ 500.649291] Exiting..
[ 500.649296] ACPI: PCI interrupt for device 0000:08:09.1 disabled

User avatar
Lee Sharp
Posts: 1069
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 9:18 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by Lee Sharp » Wed Nov 07, 2007 1:53 pm

The bt878 chip incorporates audio sampling, but most cars manufactures don't use it. The "Not Founds" are part of that. It detects the audio capture, but it does not recognize it, and you don't use it anyway...

As to the weirdness in dmesg, it looks like other stuff returning... Have you enabled any concurrency?

carteriii
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 3:13 pm

Post by carteriii » Wed Nov 07, 2007 3:01 pm

Have you enabled any concurrency?
I have not consciously or intentionally done that, mostly because I'm new to linux and wouldn't even know how. I simply installed Ubuntu 7.10 and then Zoneminder, so any settings I have are default. I am running on a Core2Duo, so perhaps the default install picked up on that and enabled some concurrency?

At a minimum you've opened my eyes to a different way to look at the output of dmesg. I always assumed the ACPI Exception was related to bttv2 since it appeared on the same line, but I guess the exception could be unrelated and could belong on the following line. I've run dmesg many times and it always appears this way, but that may be irrelevant and I should probably spend my time looking for something else rather than focusing too much on this. Thank you.

User avatar
Lee Sharp
Posts: 1069
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 9:18 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by Lee Sharp » Wed Nov 07, 2007 8:44 pm

Well, concurrency breaks networking in Gutsy, so I doubt you have it enabled. (And it is some work to do it) But yes, some programs return a status to console a few lines later. Makes for fun reading!

Back to the problem at hand... Does the card have heat sinks on the bt878 chips? If not, it is most likely heat. (They run hot) Also, when you next boot in the GURB menu pick memtest86+ and pound on the ram for a while. A flaky stick can cause issues.

SyRenity
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 2:43 pm

Post by SyRenity » Mon Nov 12, 2007 9:57 pm

Hi.

I glad this thread has caught some attention.

I have couple of network cameras rather then local. Does it mean the shared memory is the source of the problem? And what should be checked then?

Also, I think it's related to the analysis daemon, rather then to the capturing one, so this should be the same problem on any camera.

Thanks in advance.

ynn
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 2:30 am

Post by ynn » Thu Nov 15, 2007 4:40 pm

I just experienced this with my networks camera, after 2 months of working just fine and no errors, it's suddenly happened this morning
'zma -m 2' exited abnormally, exit status 11

does anyone have an idea what is wrong?

SyRenity
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 2:43 pm

Post by SyRenity » Sun Nov 18, 2007 5:23 pm

Hi.

Same happens with me, my cameras are in constant downtime because of this. Any idea what could be wrong?

Regards.

SyRenity
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 2:43 pm

Post by SyRenity » Sun Nov 18, 2007 8:05 pm

Possible fix: I reinstalled ZM, and it seems to have fixed the problem.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests