Zoneminder and Seperate HDD for recording

Forum for questions and support relating to 1.33.x development only.
Blue.R

Zoneminder and Seperate HDD for recording

Post by Blue.R »

Hi,

I'm new to Linux and Zoneminder and having issue with adding a separate HDD for storage of recording data. My setup is as follows:

I'm running a Ubuntu 18.04\Zoneminder through a CentOS\KVM Hypervisor.

HDD_1: 80GB Virtual Drive
HDD_2: 2TB Virtual Drive

The system works fine at the moment with the recording data being stored on HDD_1 (var/cache/zoneminder/events)

What I want to do is use HDD_2 as the drive for storage of the recorded data. This is what I have done do far (following instructions @ https://zoneminder.blogspot.com/p/blog-page.html).

1. Mounted the 2TB drive @ mnt/vdb (correct drive size is being shown in properties and I can move files to vdb folder)
2. Created two folders, zoneminder and events
3. Change permission to www-data
4. Add new storage option in ZM with path /mnt/vdb/zoneminder/events

Issue:
1. When I add the new storage option in ZM it shows 0B/0B as the available space.
2. Log files shows the following errors:

Storage::disk_usage_percent: path /mnt/vdb/zoneminder/events does not exist

Path /mnt/vdb/zoneminder/events does not exist.

Path /mnt/vdb/zoneminder/events does not exist.

I've made sure the permission are good and I'm a bit lost at the moment. I have events already being recorded in /var/cache/zonemider/events already and I don't really want to directly mount the new HDD to that folder.

Any ideas about what could be wrong with my setup? I've added a couple of images to show the current setup.

Thanks,
Attachments
Zoneminder_3.png
Zoneminder_3.png (103.62 KiB) Viewed 3756 times
Zoneminder_2.png
Zoneminder_2.png (35.19 KiB) Viewed 3756 times
Zoneminder_1.png
Zoneminder_1.png (7.67 KiB) Viewed 3756 times
kitkat

Re: Zoneminder and Seperate HDD for recording

Post by kitkat »

What are the permissions of /mnt and /mnt/vdb?