Camera Passthrough gives bad video

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.32.x releases only.
ibrewster

Camera Passthrough gives bad video

Post by ibrewster »

I'm new to zoneminder and working on getting my cameras all set up. At the moment, I have two cameras: an old 640x480 one, and a new 1920x1080 one. This question is about the later.

Summary: When using the X264 Encode video writer, everything works well, but (as expected from the documentation) I get no audio. When switching to H264 Camera Passthrough video writer, I get audio, but video quality suffers dramatically. What might be the cause?

Details:

Network is all hard-wire Gigabit Ethernet (though the camera itself if probably only 100Mb)
Camera is ONVIF
Source Type Ffmpeg
ZoneMinder 1.32.3
HOSafe H2MD6PA Camera

I first set up everything using the X264 Encode video writer, and spent a couple days tweaking zones. With these settings, everything works well (well, other than false alarms at night, but that's a different question), and I get good video recorded during alarms. As expected, there is no audio, so I wanted to switch to H264 Camera Pass through. When viewing the camera directly from it's webpage, it works well. However, when viewed through ZoneMinder (and recorded during an alarm), I ran into the following issues:

- Low frame rate (relatively speaking). With the X264 encode option, I get a pretty solid 20 FPS. When switching to passthrough, this drops to about 15 FPS, and closer to 9 when something is actually happening. This in itself is not a problem (9 FPS is fine in general), but it is a significant drop from using the X264 Encode setting

- Video artifacts. this *is* a problem. Whenever something moves across the frame, it freezes and smears. So, for example, I'll have a smeared image of a car driving past for several seconds after the car has passed