Buffer overrun with plenty of resources

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.32.x releases only.
Post Reply
racelife
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 11:38 pm

Buffer overrun with plenty of resources

Post by racelife » Wed Jul 31, 2019 8:44 pm

I have plenty of resources but all of a sudden I've been getting Buffer overrun errors. I haven't changed anything from when I didn't see these errors.
I'm only using 2.43G out of 19G of ram. /dev/shm: 7%. Load is 6.26 on 12 processors.
Just trying to iron out these details before I put this one in place of my current core2 duo machine running ZM1.30
Attachments
Screenshot at 2019-07-31 14-18-09.png
Screenshot at 2019-07-31 14-18-09.png (165.46 KiB) Viewed 1458 times
Screenshot at 2019-07-31 14-24-17.png
Screenshot at 2019-07-31 14-24-17.png (57.78 KiB) Viewed 1458 times
Screenshot at 2019-07-31 14-37-01.png
Screenshot at 2019-07-31 14-37-01.png (45.79 KiB) Viewed 1458 times

racelife
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 11:38 pm

Re: Buffer overrun with plenty of resources

Post by racelife » Wed Jul 31, 2019 8:48 pm

Also when I am watching 4 of the monitors live in montage if one goes into alarm that monitor temporary freezes, sometimes it catches up by fast forwarding and sometimes it just skips to the current frames and resumes normal operation.

User avatar
iconnor
Posts: 1141
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 1:43 am
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: Buffer overrun with plenty of resources

Post by iconnor » Thu Aug 01, 2019 1:30 am

How about disk IO? Pauses when writing can cause buffer overruns. 30 isn't really that many buffers.

racelife
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 11:38 pm

Re: Buffer overrun with plenty of resources

Post by racelife » Thu Aug 01, 2019 2:09 am

iconnor wrote:
Thu Aug 01, 2019 1:30 am
How about disk IO? Pauses when writing can cause buffer overruns. 30 isn't really that many buffers.
It's on a proxmox server with its own dedicated storage array, six 3TB set up in raid (I don't remember what the raid is, I think raid10) so it is striped and mirrored ending up to be 9TB of storage available. Zoneminder is the only thing using those drives and currently nothing else is running on the server.
Attachments
Screenshot at 2019-07-31 20-09-29.png
Screenshot at 2019-07-31 20-09-29.png (138.35 KiB) Viewed 1452 times
Screenshot at 2019-07-31 20-08-26.png
Screenshot at 2019-07-31 20-08-26.png (175.32 KiB) Viewed 1452 times

racelife
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 11:38 pm

Re: Buffer overrun with plenty of resources

Post by racelife » Thu Aug 01, 2019 3:35 am

I turned off saving frames+analysis images for the 4 monitors that had it on and no more errors. On the status summary of the VM it shows going from 40M down to around 3M on the disk IO. Is there a way I can keep the frames? I like being able to hover my mouse across the timeline and get sort of a timelapse view of everything on monitors set to mocord. I still haven't figured out how to bring back the red outlines where motion is detected in the timeline preview, makes it easier to track down false triggers.
Attachments
Screenshot at 2019-07-31 21-34-32.png
Screenshot at 2019-07-31 21-34-32.png (165.23 KiB) Viewed 1448 times

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests