Getting some choppy video

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.32.x releases only.
Post Reply
Yamanipanuchi
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 2:53 am

Getting some choppy video

Post by Yamanipanuchi » Fri Dec 14, 2018 6:44 pm

I just did a fresh install of 1.32.3 on a system that was previously running 1.30.4. Did full OS Re-load, Using Ubuntu server 18.04.

I've been getting choppy video, Once and a while there wont even be a video attached to the event.

Wondering if anyone here has some ideas as to what I can check, Or possibly had the same issue? Wondering if going from the individual image style storage to the MP4 storage has a little to much over-head for the system I am using? I would like to use the MP4 format, Dont know if there might be a way to mitigate the conversion?

Dell R720 Chassis
CPU: E5-2650
Memory: 8GB
HDD: H700 Perc controller 8 HDD in Raid 6.

Pedulla
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2014 11:16 am
Location: Portland, Or

Re: Getting some choppy video

Post by Pedulla » Sat Dec 15, 2018 2:13 am

I saw this when I used 264 passthrough and the camera dimensions settings did not match the camera's actual output.
Also make sure your cam is up to it's latest version of firmware.

Yamanipanuchi
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 2:53 am

Re: Getting some choppy video

Post by Yamanipanuchi » Sat Dec 15, 2018 8:44 pm

Thanks for the reply. I am pulling these from a DVR (DVR's recording lacks a lot of features). I am fairly certain the dimensions are correct.

I do notice that its only the VERY beginning of the video that is choppy. If its a longer event any video after about 2 seconds is perfectly smooth. I would suspect it might have something to do with the beginning of the event. Not sure what it is yet though.

Yamanipanuchi
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 2:53 am

Re: Getting some choppy video

Post by Yamanipanuchi » Mon Dec 17, 2018 5:30 pm

I believe I have found it. I had "Image Buffer size" the same of "Pre event image count". I increased Image Buffer Size a number slight above Pre Even Image Count and it seems to be smooth once again.

Need to work on the zone detection. The defaults dont seem to be good enough now. But that is a whole other ball of wax.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest