resize image before processing

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.29.x releases only.
evolotion

resize image before processing

Post by evolotion »

Not a feature request (as im sure the devs have their hands full!!) but looking for a suggestion how to achieve.

Have 2 5mp cameras throwing data at a little J1900 quad core celeron, Origionally bought the cameras with the intention of just running them at 1080p however noticed that when set to this the image crops rather than rescales so you loose a lot of the field of view. rescaling the 5mp output is a lot sharper and clearer than running the camera at 1080p also. at 5mp native the image isnt the best but scaled to 1080p it is really sharp.

So what Im asking is, isthere a way to scale the camera output before recording/monitoring or inspecting for motion detection? Im not a total noob with coding and scripting but is this even achievable before I go poking around?

the cheaper these multi mega pixel cameras get the more of this will crop up I imagine, as is at 10fps the system has a load average of 3-3.5 with one core occationally going flat out tho the load is usually fairly well balanced. even with both cameras set just to record the load average is above 2.

With cameras running at 1080p the load average hovered around .8-1.5, quite a difference!
bbunge

Re: resize image before processing

Post by bbunge »

Camera make/model?
evolotion

Post by evolotion »

white box unbranded cheapest of the cheap.
Closest to branding it has is subscription to a "seetong" cloud service which is disabled and blocked by me.

camera is based around the TI DM368 dsp and i opened them to confirm they are also 5mp sensors. I am aware many cameras are based on this DSP so may have a play flashing different firmwares see if I get lucky and find one that provides a scaling rather than cropping output at 1080p.