How many ZMC instances?

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.29.x releases only.
Post Reply
rockandroller
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 12:44 am

How many ZMC instances?

Post by rockandroller » Thu Apr 21, 2016 3:58 pm

Doing testing and configuration... for the first time left the Zm running all night.
Seems to be working fine, but I notice there seem to be more processes now (or maybe I just didn't notice them earlier?)

I see one ZMA process per camera, but what appears to be at least NINE zmc processes per camera. Is this normal?
ZMprocesses.png
ZMprocesses.png (91.04 KiB) Viewed 1929 times
Also, what I would call "idle" server load seems to have doubled since yesterday, it's now running at about 1/4 of machine capacity, whereas yesterday it was about 1/8th..

User avatar
asker
Posts: 1223
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:12 pm

Re: How many ZMC instances?

Post by asker » Thu Apr 21, 2016 8:24 pm

this does look odd and I don't believe is normal. multiple instances of zmc should be transient (if at all) - not long lasting.
You might want to post more details about your config and zm debug logs and some knowledgeable folks may chime in.
--
My collection of ZoneMinder learnings:
https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Various_ZM_thoughts

PacoLM
Posts: 967
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 9:55 pm
Location: Spain

Re: How many ZMC instances?

Post by PacoLM » Fri Apr 22, 2016 10:47 pm

Hi,

I saw this long time ago, but I read a post of an user explaining that ffmpeg sources usually uses more than one process. I do not know if it´s true, but in my zm server, the zmc process are also repeated in all the monitors using ffmpeg.

Regards,

PacoLM
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (39.55 KiB) Viewed 1888 times

mini-ITX system (6 IPCams - Ubuntu14.04 - ZM1.31.1)

User avatar
knight-of-ni
Posts: 2242
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Shiloh, IL

Re: How many ZMC instances?

Post by knight-of-ni » Sun Apr 24, 2016 1:56 am

If you use ps instead of htop, you will likely see just one zmc process per camera, at least if everything is working correctly.

Unlike ps, htop shows each thread separately.

For further reading:
http://unix.stackexchange.com/questions ... ss-than-ps
Visit my blog for ZoneMinder related projects using the Raspberry Pi, Orange Pi, Odroid, and the ESP8266
All of these can be found at https://zoneminder.blogspot.com/

rockandroller
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 12:44 am

Re: How many ZMC instances?

Post by rockandroller » Mon Apr 25, 2016 4:04 pm

Thanks! Multi-threaded process totally makes sense :-)

kevin186
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 4:11 am
Location: Worth, IL

Re: How many ZMC instances?

Post by kevin186 » Mon Apr 25, 2016 8:06 pm

I think pressing "shift h" will hide the threads in htop.

PacoLM
Posts: 967
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 9:55 pm
Location: Spain

Re: How many ZMC instances?

Post by PacoLM » Mon Apr 25, 2016 8:17 pm

kevin186 wrote:I think pressing "shift h" will hide the threads in htop.
Yes sir!

mini-ITX system (6 IPCams - Ubuntu14.04 - ZM1.31.1)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests