[SOLVED] How to create a motion detect zone in ZM?

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.24.x releases only.
coinbird
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 9:06 pm

Re: [SOLVED] How to create a motion detect zone in ZM?

Post by coinbird » Sat May 28, 2011 10:47 pm

It also fixed the issue for me. :mrgreen: Thank you Kialne!

bigdaddy30
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 5:03 pm

Re: [SOLVED] How to create a motion detect zone in ZM?

Post by bigdaddy30 » Mon May 30, 2011 5:07 pm

Worked for me as well. Awesome, thanks!

AnotherBrian
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 6:36 am

Re: [SOLVED] How to create a motion detect zone in ZM?

Post by AnotherBrian » Tue Jun 07, 2011 4:10 pm

For future reference, I am curious how one would discover the solution to this on their own.

I am guessing that some sort of php trace function can be activated that displays the code that is executing or something other.

How would one activate the trace function (i.e., where is it activated) assuming that is how it is done.

Thx!

JakFrost
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 10:41 am

Re: [SOLVED] How to create a motion detect zone in ZM?

Post by JakFrost » Tue Jul 05, 2011 5:52 pm

Fixed my issue also on Ubuntu 11.04 with Zoneminder 1.24.2.

I posted a bug report about this package: Zoneminder 1.24.2-8ubuntu1 package - bug 806101

(Can't post URL to bug report because stupid forum thinks it's spam link.)

Scorpey
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 12:58 pm

Re: [SOLVED] How to create a motion detect zone in ZM?

Post by Scorpey » Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:53 am

Grac Gays!!!

eldustino
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2011 4:07 pm

Re: How to create a motion detect zone in ZM?

Post by eldustino » Sun Aug 14, 2011 5:20 pm

Kialne wrote:Hello Guys,

2) 'mootools.js' and 'mootools-more.js' are links pointing respectively to 'mootools-core.min.js' and 'mootools-more.min.js'.
- this 2 pieces of code don't give me any working results. I replace it by 'mootools-core-nc.js' and 'mootools-more-nc.js'.

And then, creation of motion detect zones is now working for me when I modify the file
'/usr/share/zoneminder/skins/classic/includes/functions.php' in this way :

Code: Select all

  <script type="text/javascript" src="../javascript/mootools/mootools-core-nc.js"></script>
  <script type="text/javascript" src="../javascript/mootools/mootools-more-nc.js"></script>
I hope my experience can help you.
With best regards,
Kialne
(location Tubize, near from Brussels, Belgium)
Thanks Kialne, working much better for me, though still a little buggy with the zones. On #2, did you mean that you replaced those symlinks or did you just modify functions.php. You said "and then" so I'm not 100% sure.

Thanks much!

fmas
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:58 pm

Re: [SOLVED] How to create a motion detect zone in ZM?

Post by fmas » Sun Aug 21, 2011 6:04 pm

Many thanks for this fix, it worked for me (Ubuntu 11.04 and ZM 1.24.2). Incidently, it also seems to have fixed an issue with some 'montage' options. Prior to the fix, I could only get my monitors in a 1-column layout, whereas the layout now behaves as expected from the pull-down menu.

kfelgs
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 6:11 pm
Location: Western NY

Re: [SOLVED] How to create a motion detect zone in ZM?

Post by kfelgs » Tue Aug 23, 2011 8:06 pm

Thank you Kialne :D . This fixed the same problem I was having in my Linux Mint 11 Debian ZM setup.

carteriii
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 3:13 pm

Re: [SOLVED] How to create a motion detect zone in ZM?

Post by carteriii » Wed Dec 21, 2011 4:22 pm

I want to add some information here since this thread also helped me.

For starters, Unbuntu has an apache2 configuration file in /etc/apache2/conf.d named javascript-common.conf. This creates an alias from /javascript to /usr/share/javascript. So when you see any web page referencing something at /javascript/<somewhere>, that does NOT mean it is coming from the /usr/share/zoneminder folder. That's why creating /usr/share/zoneminder/mootools doesn't work.

It's a subtle thing, but you have to notice the path to load the mootools files starts with "/javascript/mootools" (with a leading slash) rather than just "javascript/mootools" (for a relative path, no leading slash). That leading slash puts it at the root level, and the apache alias takes over at that point.

Now at the core of all our problems is the use of mootools-core.min.js vs. mootoos-core-nc.js. The "min" version has been minified, to reduce the size of the file. The minification process removes comments, unnecessary whitespace, and often renames functions to something shorter. It appears that something about that minification process is simply broken on the ubuntu distribution, at least for our use with ZoneMinder. I'm assuming this has nothing to do with ZoneMinder. I suspect the appropriate place to report a problem would be in the core distribution of mootools (not ZM).

On the assumption that the minified versions are just corrupt in some manner, I've chosen to change my symlink in /usr/share/javascript to point to the non-minified version so that nothing else will use them. That leaves my ZoneMinder source alone, which is fine otherwise.

ooseven
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 6:57 am

Re: How to create a motion detect zone in ZM?

Post by ooseven » Sun Feb 12, 2012 8:32 pm

Kialne wrote:Hello Guys,

Using Ubuntu 11.04, ZoneMinder v1.24.2. and the version of mootools installed by Ubuntu (libjs-mootools 1.2.5~debian1.2) :

1) 'mootools' is installed in '/usr/share/javascript/mootools' :
- it's necessary to modify the file '/usr/share/zoneminder/skins/classic/includes/functions.php' in order
to help 'zoneminder' to find the location of 'mootools'.
2) 'mootools.js' and 'mootools-more.js' are links pointing respectively to 'mootools-core.min.js' and 'mootools-more.min.js'.
- this 2 pieces of code don't give me any working results. I replace it by 'mootools-core-nc.js' and 'mootools-more-nc.js'.

And then, creation of motion detect zones is now working for me when I modify the file
'/usr/share/zoneminder/skins/classic/includes/functions.php' in this way :

Code: Select all

  <script type="text/javascript" src="../javascript/mootools/mootools-core-nc.js"></script>
  <script type="text/javascript" src="../javascript/mootools/mootools-more-nc.js"></script>
Please explain in detail how to do this. I am new. I have ubuntu 12.04 32 bit installed.
I need in detail how to set it up. I have the console so I can go in and see all is green but
the monitor which is purple.

Thank You

ooseven

I hope my experience can help you.
With best regards,
Kialne
(location Tubize, near from Brussels, Belgium)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests