Page 1 of 1

How do I increase the ring buffer size?

Posted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 9:48 pm
by cadere
I'm running three cameras on a low end system and it is taking a lot of tweaking to get reliable motion capture. I was getting many "buffer overrun slow down capture, speed up analysis, or increase ring buffer size" in my var/log/messages which often crashed the daemon for the camera. I've adjusted the capture and analysis options enough to get much better stability. Now the only time I seem to have problems is when I get extended events. Many short events are fine. I'd like to adjust the ring buffer size to see if that helps. I've played with the shared memory settings but can't find anything that lets me adjust the ring buffer size itself.

Anybody know?

Thanks!

Re: How do I increase the ring buffer size?

Posted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 10:34 pm
by whatboy
Click on the camera (Source) then buffers...

http://www.zoneminder.com/wiki/index.ph ... uffers_Tab

Re: How do I increase the ring buffer size?

Posted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:20 am
by cadere
Somehow in all my searching I never saw anything that directly equated "ring buffer" with "image buffer" . Ironically somehow I was under the impression that I was supposed to decrease the image buffer for better performance while increasing the ring buffer. As well as when I searched the wiki for references for ring buffer somehow I missed the page you linked to.

Thanks for clearing that up for me!