ZM webpage not accessible

Forum for questions and support relating to the 1.24.x releases only.
lpallard
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:59 pm

ZM webpage not accessible

Post by lpallard » Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:09 pm

Hi! this is my first post to this forum, I hope I will learn from it!

I recently installed Zoneminder on my server and I am experiencing some problems...

Basically I cannot access the ZM home page (http://localhost/zm) or anything like that. I obtain a white page saying

"Not Found

The requested URL /zm was not found on this server."

Error logs (Apache) located in /var/log/httpd/error_log shows:
[code]Warning: DocumentRoot [/usr/docs/dummy-host.example.com] does not exist
Warning: DocumentRoot [/usr/docs/dummy-host2.example.com] does not exist
[Fri Mar 05 17:52:56 2010] [notice] Digest: generating secret for digest authentication ...
[Fri Mar 05 17:52:56 2010] [notice] Digest: done
[Fri Mar 05 17:52:57 2010] [notice] Apache/2.2.10 (Unix) DAV/2 PHP/5.2.8 configured -- resuming normal operations[/code]

And thats it. I an new to MySQL, Apache and Zoneminder.

I am using ZM 1.24.2 and followed the procedure on this website for my Slackware box. I did not encountered any errors during the process. My OS is Slack 12.2 stock kernel 2.6.27.7-smp.

I tried to verify all imaginable permissions on files, etc, and also played quite a bit with the apache configuration file (httpd.conf). Still no success.

Any clues whats going on?

Many thanks in advance!

whatboy
Posts: 304
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 10:31 pm

Post by whatboy » Sat Mar 06, 2010 6:16 am

Did you created an Aliases???

I have Fedora and I created a file in /etc/http/conf.d/zm.conf and there created the Alias and permission to access that folder...

lpallard
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:59 pm

Post by lpallard » Sat Mar 06, 2010 4:36 pm

Hmmm I probably missed on that! No I do not recall to have created an alias... How did you do that? Can you paste the code you used? I am fairly new to linux so if there is any special switches or commands to use I will need an example to get it.

Thanks for the reply!!

whatboy
Posts: 304
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 10:31 pm

Post by whatboy » Sat Mar 06, 2010 9:28 pm

Maybe I'm wrong since you have another distro...

/etc/httpd/conf.d/zoneminder.conf

lpallard
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:59 pm

Post by lpallard » Sat Mar 06, 2010 10:26 pm

whatboy,

yeah I do not have this file.....

any other idea?

garyc
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:24 pm

Post by garyc » Sat Mar 06, 2010 11:16 pm

Hi,

Have you tried http://"server-IP-address"/ZM/index.php or http://"server-IP-address"/index.php?

That is what works for me.

lpallard
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:59 pm

Post by lpallard » Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:50 pm

garyc, thanks for your reply! I appreciate a lot!

Yes I just tried both of your suggestions, and end up with:

[code]Not Found

The requested URL /ZM/index.php was not found on this server.[/code]

when using http://192.168.0.100/ZM/index.php where 192.168.0.100 is my server's IP. Please note that I try to acces the ZM control page FROM the server itself.... I suspect there is problems with either Apache or something else... I am also trying to get a different software alfresco) to run on the same machine and it is not working.... I think there is a common problem for those applications, and Apache or MySQL could be the problems.....


Any more idea?? I literally tried everything.... Im getting a little bit tired and out of ideas...

Thanks!

garyc
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:24 pm

Post by garyc » Sun Mar 07, 2010 8:09 pm

have you tried the URL without the zm, whcih is how I access my console from within my network, whereas those from outside the LAN need the zm.

Also, silly question but is ZM running - check that the service is running or simply restart it to make sure.

Is the http service running?

There should be a zm folder in you apache html folder (not sure where that will be in your distro as I use CentOS) and in that you will find the index.php file.

You could also simply try a reinstall. I did something wrong on my first attempt but a reinstall cured that.

Otherwise, I leave it up to those who know more than I as I am only a coupleof weeks ahead of you with ZM. All I would say is keep tring because the software is awesome.

lpallard
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:59 pm

Post by lpallard » Sun Mar 07, 2010 8:34 pm

garyc, thanks again for replying! Every little step brings me closer to the goal I guess!! ;)

There is no silly questions! Actually I feel pretty stupid myself...

The Zm service was not running upon startup.. I started the service manually (/etc/rc.d/rc.zm start) and it started sucessfully.

Then I did /etc/rc.d/rc.zm status to get the status of the services and I got:

httpd (pid 5155 3183 3182 3181 3180 3179 3148) is running...
mysqld (pid 3136) is running...
ZoneMinder is running
Id Func State TrgState LastImgTim RdIdx WrIdx LastEvt FrmRate

But still cant access the web config page...

I suspect my Apache folder is /etc/httpd (hope it is the case) but there is no folders or files related to ZM in there....

garyc
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:24 pm

Post by garyc » Sun Mar 07, 2010 8:42 pm

Sounds like you are making progress.

On CentOS your websites will be stored in /var/www/html.

From memory in OpenSuSe it was in /srv/www/html

If you are hosting any other websites on your server you will need to add an IP based virtual host for zm using the IP addy of the server

lpallard
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:59 pm

Post by lpallard » Sun Mar 07, 2010 8:49 pm

Hey gary,

communication is easy today!

I am using slack 12.2

there is a /var/www folder and its content is 4 folders:

cgi-bin error htdocs icons

I am not hosting any websites... This is just a machine within my network.

garyc
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:24 pm

Post by garyc » Sun Mar 07, 2010 8:54 pm

I would think there will be a zm folder in htdocs and in that will be the index.php

I just logged into my server and http://localhost/zm launches ZM interface - ho hum

but from my desktop PC I need to go to http://IP_Addy/index.php

garyc
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:24 pm

Post by garyc » Sun Mar 07, 2010 8:57 pm

just another thought. What do you get if you just type in http://localhost? If apache is running correctly I think you should get the apache test page or an error page (whatever is in the error folder)

lpallard
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:59 pm

Post by lpallard » Sun Mar 07, 2010 9:28 pm

The content of htdocs is:
ajax apache_pb.png apache_pb22.png css graphics images index.html js manual sounds tools
apache_pb.gif apache_pb22.gif apache_pb22_ani.gif events htdig includes index.php lang skins temp views

typing http://localhost/zm gives:

Failed to Connect
Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at localhost.

and finally just typing http://localhost gives the same result as above, but adding the port number (8080) to the address (http://localhost:8080/) gives a blank page, no errors...

garyc
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:24 pm

Post by garyc » Sun Mar 07, 2010 9:32 pm

try port 8080 with zm (which will be case sensitive of course

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests