Ethernet Switch

Post here to ask any questions about hardware suitability, configuration in ZoneMinder, or experiences. If you just want to know if something works with ZoneMinder or not, please check the Hardware Compatibility sections in the forum, and the Wiki first. Also search this topic as well.
Post Reply
petercnx
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2021 12:53 pm

Ethernet Switch

Post by petercnx » Thu Jan 28, 2021 12:58 pm

We just moved house and installed in the new house are 8 cameras as a security system. They are run by a PSI DVR X8 system which is a bit limited. We have still not got the Admin password and so it is not possible to get into the system. The system is written to a chip on a very simple board.

So there have to be changes. What I would like to do is to use ZoneMinder on a new computer and use the existing installed cameras and probably install two or three more.

What I do not understand is how to set up the hardware. The cameras are all with BNC connectors which are not PC motherboard friendly so what I was thinking of doing is to get some BNC to RJ45 connectors and then plug the cameras into a 16 port Ethernet switch. The switch can then be connected to ZoneMinder on a simple server .... two Ethernet ports, one facing the cameras and one to the Internet.

But would that work and would it be straight forward to identify the individual cameras on the switch?

Any guidance appreciated .......

(if relevant I will run the latest version of ZM on the latest Ubuntu server)

jperkins
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2021 11:08 am

Re: Ethernet Switch

Post by jperkins » Fri Jan 29, 2021 3:42 am

petercnx wrote:
Thu Jan 28, 2021 12:58 pm
I was thinking of doing is to get some BNC to RJ45 connectors and......
Never hears of such a thing but can be taught something new every day. Please provide a link to above mentioned connectors.

burger
Posts: 262
Joined: Mon May 11, 2020 4:32 pm

Re: Ethernet Switch

Post by burger » Fri Jan 29, 2021 4:22 am

What you want is https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Hardware_Co ... eo_Encoder

You have analog cameras. They likely output NTSC or PAL video. Like what a CRT tv would use. Newer ones may be Analog HD. Analog HD are more complex to interface to.
fastest way to test streams:
ffmpeg -i rtsp://<ipaddress>:554/path output.mp4
from terminal, and run through paths on ispydb or in zm hcl

If you are new to security software, read this:
https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Dummies_Guide

jperkins
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2021 11:08 am

Re: Ethernet Switch

Post by jperkins » Fri Jan 29, 2021 5:16 am

Is that cost effective. My old cams were hd sdi bnc and i could not find a cost effective ip solution. Ymmv

burger
Posts: 262
Joined: Mon May 11, 2020 4:32 pm

Re: Ethernet Switch

Post by burger » Fri Jan 29, 2021 5:21 am

jperkins wrote:
Fri Jan 29, 2021 5:16 am
Is that cost effective. My old cams were hd sdi bnc and i could not find a cost effective ip solution. Ymmv
Analog HD cameras are doomed. There's not much market for them, and they are not future proof. May be better off replacing with just NTSC or PAL and then run future cameras with ethernet.
fastest way to test streams:
ffmpeg -i rtsp://<ipaddress>:554/path output.mp4
from terminal, and run through paths on ispydb or in zm hcl

If you are new to security software, read this:
https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Dummies_Guide

petercnx
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2021 12:53 pm

Re: Ethernet Switch

Post by petercnx » Fri Jan 29, 2021 7:11 am

Thank you for your responses .....

" Never hears of such a thing but can be taught something new every day. Please provide a link to above mentioned connectors."

The following link shows a BNC to RJ45 connector.
https://www.lazada.co.th/products/chang ... 9&search=1

"What you want is https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Hardware_Co ... eo_Encoder"

Finding an IP video encoder in this part of the world is not a reality.

I cannot find any details about the cameras ... they appear to be PSI OCS AHD System C2 (2MP. 2.8mm lens. 12V. 1A) which means not expensive and made in China.

Nobody is saying that an Ethernet switch will not work so should I assume that this is the path to tread?

jperkins
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2021 11:08 am

Re: Ethernet Switch

Post by jperkins » Fri Jan 29, 2021 7:20 am

petercnx wrote:
Fri Jan 29, 2021 7:11 am
Nobody is saying that an Ethernet switch will not work so should I assume that this is the path to tread?
IMHO I am saying an ethernet switch is not going to work without a device(video encoder) as mentioned above by burger.

take a close look a the link you provide for this "connector" . It only has 2 wires, probably because bnc has 2 wires. ethernet is 8 wires.

jperkins
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2021 11:08 am

Re: Ethernet Switch

Post by jperkins » Fri Jan 29, 2021 7:24 am

FYI

These will not convert a analog camera (with BNC connector) to an IP camera. To do that you need a digital encoder.
What these adapters do is allow you to use Cat 5e wiring between the camera and DVR (as opposed to running coax wire and a power wire between the camera and DVR)

https://www.amazon.com/ask/questions/Tx ... pmw_al_hza

petercnx
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2021 12:53 pm

Re: Ethernet Switch

Post by petercnx » Fri Jan 29, 2021 7:28 am

OK .... so a no starter then ....... Thanks for your input.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 4 guests