New capture card to replace two old ones

Post here to ask any questions about hardware suitability, configuration in ZoneMinder, or experiences. If you just want to know if something works with ZoneMinder or not, please check the Hardware Compatibility sections in the forum, and the Wiki first. Also search this topic as well.
Mikeee404

New capture card to replace two old ones

Post by Mikeee404 »

I have been supporting an install at a local bowling alley for quite a few years. We originally started out with an old Backbox dvr system which was a Pentium D custom box with a proprietary capture card. It was a Windows XP modified install that just never worked right. This was back when I was upgrading my desktop every two years so I donated an AMD FX6300, 16GB RAM build. I bought a couple Chinese off-brand bt878 capture cards, two 8-port PCI cards. It worked pretty good under Ubuntu 10.04 and actually appeared to be under utilizing the hardware, the CPU and memory specifically. The owner wanted a cloud replacement to Dropbox at the time so I added Owncloud (now running Nextcloud), oh and more cameras. Anyway, this meant since it would be internet accessible I wanted a more current distro so it went to Ubuntu 16.04 and after a number of issues eventually Debian 9 which it runs yet today. While the system as a whole ran great Zoneminder just wasn't as smooth in capturing video. I blame the older PCI capture cards fighting for crap bandwidth on the PCI slots.

Here we are now, a semi usable install I want to just rework. My plan is to split Zoneminder, Nextcloud, etc into their own LXD container under Ubuntu 20.04 but this means it is also time to find a capture card or cards that uses PCI-express instead. Ideally a 16-port card, but I am good with another pair of 8-port as long as they are not PCI again.

So long story not so short, what recommendations does the community have for a 8/16 port PCI-E card? Currently run 12 mixed analog cameras at 4fps 480p.
burger