Viewing ZoneMinder on a SmartTV

Post here to ask any questions about hardware suitability, configuration in ZoneMinder, or experiences. If you just want to know if something works with ZoneMinder or not, please check the Hardware Compatibility sections in the forum, and the Wiki first. Also search this topic as well.
Post Reply
AllenTuttle
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 4:56 pm
Location: Seattle WA.
Contact:

Viewing ZoneMinder on a SmartTV

Post by AllenTuttle » Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:55 pm

I've tried viewing ZoneMinder on TV's that have built in browsers (a Samsung and an LG, and a Sony TV streaming appliance).
The live and replay views fail, no matter what I set the default video stream to.
Viewing stills does work.
--
However, if I take an event and use the 'Generate Video' option, depending on the output format I can view it.
I get the best results outputting to 'swf'. Quality of playback is good and it is the only format that auto repeats on the TV's.
-------------
Has anyone been able to get the Live view to work on a SmartTV?
Has anyone been able to get Zoneminder to stream in anything other than jpeg?
No matter what I set my default stream to it always ends up streaming jpeg when I look at the HTML code.
Example:
<img id="evtStream" src="https://iserver/cgi-bin/nph-zms?source= ... peg&event=...."

Mad Professor
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:20 am
Location: Isle Of Wight, UK

Re: Viewing ZoneMinder on a SmartTV

Post by Mad Professor » Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:45 pm

I take it you have one of the new Samsung D series TV's, I have the Samsung C8000.

On the C series in the app manager there is a program called "Mobiscope", it does not yet support Zoneminder, but I have put in a support ticket asking for them to support zoneminder.

mythedoff
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 5:21 pm

Re: Viewing ZoneMinder on a SmartTV

Post by mythedoff » Wed Mar 14, 2012 3:45 pm

Sorry no experience with SmartTV but I've done/do this via a web browser through in a htpc on both sd and hd tv's. No matter what is happening on the htpc, I can click a button on the remote and instantly view the cam that I have set up to view. It has a very big wow factor when people see it happen the first time.

Classic
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 10:48 pm

Re: Viewing ZoneMinder on a SmartTV

Post by Classic » Sat Apr 21, 2012 1:36 am

Maybe, the problem is the ssl protocol...https...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests