Help before ordering hardware.

Post here to ask any questions about hardware suitability, configuration in ZoneMinder, or experiences. If you just want to know if something works with ZoneMinder or not, please check the Hardware Compatibility sections in the forum, and the Wiki first. Also search this topic as well.
nstamoul

Help before ordering hardware.

Post by nstamoul »

Hallo everyone.

I want to set up a surveillance system for a friend of mine and since I am a newbie at this I have some questions regarding the setup.

I want to use 4 cameras to effectively monitor the site.So here is my first question.Do I use a 4 camera kit of the shelf or do I buy 4 separate camera/receiver sets?The obvious way is a complete set but I would like to have your opinion on that.

Next is my biggest blurry spot on the whole setup.I have searched through ebay and I have seen many camera sets.Most of the receivers have one or two video outputs.But since I need to monitor all 4 cameras at the same time how is this possible with only one a/v output.The only kit I have seen that has 4 A/V outputs is this one: http://cgi.ebay.com/Wireless-4-Camera-D ... s=72%3A570

So is this the case,do I really need a 4 A/V output receiver in order to be able to see all 4 cameras at the same time?Are there any more sets like the one on ebay listed above?Any recommendations here?

Lets say I got my wireless camera stuff working and it comes down to getting it to work with zoneminder.I have something like this in mind http://store.bluecherry.net/4_port_vide ... pv-149.htm

***Newbie question alert***
Do the connectors from the wireless receiver match?I see a lot of capture cards with a different kind of receiver,like this one http://store.bluecherry.net/v/vspfiles/ ... 43Na-2.jpg where the connectors definitely don't match.Do I just use an adapter or is it more complicated than that?
What about sound? I don't see any sound inputs on that card.