Has anyone made TinyCam work with Zoneminder?

A place for discussion of topics that are not specific to ZoneMinder. This could include Linux, Video4Linux, CCTV cameras or any other topic.
Post Reply
washy75
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 11:06 pm

Has anyone made TinyCam work with Zoneminder?

Post by washy75 » Mon Aug 31, 2015 11:28 pm

I am a bit disappointed with tinyCam, can't really make it work with my Zoneminder installation, even after I bought the PRO version. Searched everywhere, even in this very forum but no luck.
My problem is that I can add my Zoneminder IP address to tinyCam but can't see anything at all. I go to "Manage Cameras"/"Scan Network"/"Advanced". I type in my IP address and credentials for my ZM installation. The ZM server is added apparently fine but can't see the list of cameras I have hooked up to my ZM server. When I check "Camera Status", all I see is that there's frames being received somehow but there's a "Dropped Frames: 100%" down bellow that bugs me. The only clue I could find here in this Forum is that someone noticed Monitor ID changed every time you add a new camera, then he deleted the first monitor and tinyCam didn't work anymore. I tried going on PHPMyAdmin on the server where ZM is installed and tried to change Monitor ID to 1 but I realised all I did was to change the name for it "Monitor 1". tinyCam PRO still doesn't work! I don't normally post on forums, because normally on my searches I find the answer, but I haven't found it yet. tinyCam developer doesn't answer anything, which I find very frustrating since people like me support his work, but never mind. Hope someone else here can give me some light into my case.

P.S.: BTW, Zoneminder works like a charm on ZMView, but I find it quite boring app, and was hopefull that tinyCam would be 100% better. I am wrong so far...

User avatar
asker
Posts: 1049
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:12 pm

Re: Has anyone made TinyCam work with Zoneminder?

Post by asker » Fri Dec 18, 2015 7:11 pm

I just released zmNinja in the play store. You need ZM 1.28.107 or above.
--
My collection of ZoneMinder learnings:
https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Various_ZM_thoughts

darmach
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 8:26 am

Re: Has anyone made TinyCam work with Zoneminder?

Post by darmach » Fri Dec 09, 2016 4:55 pm

Did you solve your issue? In TinyCam you need to select proper "channel" - its the same as camera ID in mysql table.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests