Zoneminder with Home Automation and Security

A place for discussion of topics that are not specific to ZoneMinder. This could include Linux, Video4Linux, CCTV cameras or any other topic.
JohnnySSH

Zoneminder with Home Automation and Security

Post by JohnnySSH »

Hi,

I'm a total newbee to CCTV/security setups and Home Automation.

I hope someone can give me some advice to help with my confusion.

Basically I'd like to integrate Zoneminder with a home automation system. Now having done a lot of reading about the various different ways in which to build a setup and different protocols involved I was hoping to use Zoneminder as a central security system.

Since the way I understand it Zoneminder can detect movement either through motion detectors in cameras or optically say if a particular "defined" zone shows some kind of abnormality; from the red section in this screenshot from the site:

http://www.zoneminder.com/sites/zonemin ... irefox.jpg

So if something "hinky" is detected Zoneminder will issue an alert....

If I were to bullet point my questions it would end up something like this:

1. Can ZM be used as or in conjunction with an alarm system - as in when ZM alerts it sets of an external alarm sounder unit?

2. Can ZM be integrated with Home Automation protocols such as X10, so that one can network the whole setup?

3. When going for wireless IP cameras, what should one be looking out for? Since there is a vast variety of manufacturers out there, what's the difference between cameras costing say $50 and those costing $500?

4. Can ZM also link to smoke detectors and other "emergency" style detector or should I just simply view ZM as being a CCTV based PVR style software with many cool features?

- 4.1. If the PVR style is the case what's the best way to integrate ZM with a Home Automation system then? It would be great and so cool to be able to control everything from a central location; be it control panel or computer/phone software!